Thursday, June 2, 2016

Foundation for Roanoke Valley Awards Close to $100,000 in Scholarships

Foundation for Roanoke Valley announced it has awarded close to $100,000 in educational scholarships during its annual scholarship dinner, held at the Sheraton Roanoke Hotel and Conference Center on May 19.
            The Foundation administers 47 endowed scholarship funds, and it received close to one thousand applications for scholarships this year.  Recipients were selected on a competitive basis using criteria established by donors at the creation of the scholarship endowment.
            The Foundation’s largest scholarship, its “Holland Scholar Award,” is always at least $10,000 and is given annually to an outstanding graduating senior from the Roanoke Valley who shows exceptional promise in his or her future college career.  For 2016, the scholarship was $18,000 and was presented to J. Christian Blackwell, a senior at Patrick Henry High School. Blackwell will attend the University of Virginia in the fall.
Other scholarships awarded to Roanoke Valley students include:
            The Alphin Family Scholarship Fund:  Gregory L. Brown and Lillian G. Riley, Rockbridge County.
            Cave Spring Lions Club Scholarship Fund:  J. Christian Blackwell, Patrick Henry and Daniel W. Webb, William Byrd.  CITY School Foundation Scholarship Fund:  Justin T. Howell, William Fleming and Ciara R. Mulcahy, Patrick Henry. 
Christi Crutchfield Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Alyssa M. Nelson, NorthsideHelen F. Dickson Scholarship Fund:  Mauri B. Deeds and Michaela I. Miller, Alleghany; Dylan R. Persinger, Covington.
            Lenna E. Etzler Scholarship Fund:  Alyssa D. Lowe, Lord Botetourt.  Franklin County Ed-U-K8tor Scholarship Fund:  Alexus V. McBride, Franklin County.  Franklin County High School Scholarship Fund:  Danielle N. Hodges and Michaela V. Tyree.  Gilbert-Thompson Memorial Award Fund:  Drew M. Harlow and Michaela I. Miller, Alleghany. 
Joseph Waskey Gilbert Memorial Fund Award: Morganne Durham, Virginia Tech.  Clarence M. Gillis Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Nhi T. Nguyen, Patrick Henry.  Michael Dean Guilliams Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Mason L. Wheeler, Patrick Henry.
Margaret Jones Irvin Scholarship Fund:  Clay E. Adkins, Alleghany and Ana K. Lopez Muguiro, William Byrd.  Jefferson College of Health Sciences Scholarship Fund: Jordon Long.
  Melva P. Jones Scholarship Fund:  Julianne E. Ferguson, William Byrd.  Grace Lovegrove Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Christopher G. Pufko, Patrick Henry.  Marion Senior High School Memorial Scholarship Fund for Music, Arts, the Performing Arts, and Education:  Daisy E. Sturgill.
Ronald L. Mayfield, Jr. Scholarship Fund:  Brenda Pineda Aguilar, Patrick Henry.  The Louise and Sam McGhee Scholarship Fund:  Michael L. Albert, and Ethan L. Aylor, James River.   Carol Lee McGuire-Bishop Scholarship Fund:  Alexis L. Richmond, Alleghany; Dorothy and Julien Meyer, Sr., M.D. Scholarship Fund:  George B. Barker, Salem. 
Clarissa Edwards Noland Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Megan B. McClure, Lord Botetourt.  The National Honor Society – Felton Pendleton Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Odessa B. Burress and Michael A. Dean, George Wythe.  Jean L. Price Scholarship Fund:  George B. Barker, Salem; Danielle C. Booth, Franklin County; Henry P. Hurt, Franklin County; Andrea Secamiglio, Roanoke Catholic.
E. Price Ripley Memorial Foundation Fund:  Ryan A. Fralin, Lord Botetourt; Melissa Y. Wu, William Byrd; Hannah G. Winstead, Salem  Frank W. (Bo) Rogers Scholarship Fund:  J. Christian Blackwell, Patrick Henry
            Frances Parker Rupert Memorial Fund for Music and the Performing Arts: Cedar J. Moore, Alleghany.  Scholarship Fund for Craig County High School Students:  Eliza Page Paitsel. 
Eddie Simpson Scholarship Fund:  Nhi Nguyen, Patrick Henry.  The Joyce and Shad Solomon Family Scholarship Fund:  Tanner L. Bradley, Bath County. 
            Samuel “Bo” Terry Scholarship Fund:  Elizabeth K. Brown, William Fleming and Nhi Nguyen, Patrick Henry.  Bryan William Thomas Scholarship Fund:  Nicole C. Wilson, Glenvar.  H.B. and E.B. Wharton Scholarship Fund:  Haley N. Green, Glenvar; Taylor E. Powell, Cave Spring; Corina E. Woodson, William Byrd.
Dianne E.H. Wilcox Scholarship Fund:  Azia M. Cardwell, Covington; Tori M. Deibler, Christiansburg; Walker T. Maxey, Franklin County.  John W. Wilks Excellence in Science Scholarship Fund:  Benjamin T. Colston, Roanoke Valley Christian School.  Melva Dulaney Wright Memorial Scholarship Fund:  Cole J. Cowher, Cave Spring.            
Foundation for Roanoke Valley is the community foundation serving this region.  The Foundation has worked for more than two decades to administer and make grants from hundreds of named endowment funds on behalf of the community.  For more information, visit Foundation for Roanoke Valley’s website at or call 985-0204.

Photo Credit: McDilda Photography